Ghost, History, Murder and Mystery Tour

Reserve Your Tour Now

New Orleans exists between the worlds of the living and dead.

From our unconventional funeral traditions, eerie religious practices, and numerous historic calamities its no wonder the French Quarter is riddled with encounters of ghosts and unexplained events. A rich tradition of Louisiana Voodoo paired with our very own Voodoo Queen of New Orleans (Marie Laveau) means that magic winds its way into every street of the historic river city. Voodoo, Hoodoo, Conjuremen, Ghosts, Vampires, and more have worked their way into the incredible tapestry of life (and death) in New Orleans.

Our Licensed tour guides will lead you to the most haunted places in the French Quarter, touching upon the history and memory of New Orleans. Why does the ghost of a priest still walk near the St. Louis Cathedral? What horror stories have been woven from the Axe Man of New Orleans? What still walks the streets of the French Quarter at night, side by side with tourist and jazz bands? You’ll be able to experience all of this with one of our expert guides while diving into the darker and more mysterious pieces of the incredible patchwork of the city.

Tour Details

Ghost, History, Murder and Mystery Tour

  • Please arrive 15 minutes prior to your departure time
  • Tour departs 7 days a week, rain or shine. Please wear comfortable shoes and bring an umbrella
  • Bring a camera
  • Private Tours available upon request by phone
  • No tours on Mardi Gras Day

Start Location

434 Charters Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Meet in front of Hove’ Parfumeur
(which is next door to Napoleon House)
VIEW MAP

Start Times

5:30 and 8:00 every night

Cost

$25 Adults ages 13+
$18 Senior ages 65 + with valid ID
$18 Active Military with valid ID
$18 Student ages 13-17 with valid ID
$14 Child (ages 6-12)
FREE for ages 5 and under

Featured Tour Stops (subject to change)

Le Petit Theatre

New Orleans’ most historic playhouse, Le Petit Théâtre Du Vieux Carré, plays an important role in our nation’s theatrical history. Le Petit was founded in 1916, when a group of amateur theatre-lovers began putting on plays in the drawing room of one of the members. The audiences of the Drawing Room Players grew, and the founders rented space on the second floor in the lower Pontalba Buildings, for $17.50 per month. During its 95 years of operation, Le Petit has been recognized as one of the leading “little” or community theaters in the nation.
VIEW MAP

New Orleans Pharmacy Museum
New Orleans Pharmacy Museum showcases its extensive collection and provides educational programs on the history of pharmacy and health care. This museum has a large collection of apothecary jars containing their original ingredients, old wheelchairs, black leather physicians’ bags, medical instruments, eyeglasses, optical prosthetic devices, and surgical tools all displayed in hand-carved, glass-fronted cabinets.
VIEW MAP
Lalaurie Mansion
The Lalaurie Mansion is one of the most notoriously haunted mansions in New Orleans. At three stories high, it was described in 1928 as “the highest building for squares around”, with the result that “from the cupola on the roof one may look out over the Vieux Carré and see the Mississippi in its crescent before Jackson Square”. The owner, Madame LaLaurie, was a New Orleans Creole socialite and serial killer who tortured and murdered slaves in her household.
VIEW MAP
Pirates Alley
Formerly known as “Orleans Alley,” the passage is one block long, extending from Chartres Street at Jackson Square to Royal Street. Halfway down the alley, a lamppost marks its intersection with Cabildo Alley, which extends (the width of the Cabildo) to St. Peter Street. Much legend swirls around Pirate’s Alley and its location between the original Spanish prison and the Cathedral. One legend maintains that pirates traveled this alley to enter the town from the Mississippi River. Another suggests that pirates and other criminals were often seen being escorted to the prison via this route.
VIEW MAP
Old Ursuline Convent
The Ursulines have a long history in the city of New Orleans, Louisiana. Arrival of the Ursulines in New Orleans, 1727 (19th century depiction)As early as 1726, King Louis XV of France decided that three Ursuline nuns from Rouen should go to New Orleans to establish a hospital for poor sick people and to provide education for young girls of wealthy families. The Old Ursuline Convent was built in 1745, the oldest building in the Mississippi Valley and once home to the Ursuline Nuns until 1824, as a convent, orphanage and school for girls.
VIEW MAP
Beauregard-Keyes House
The Beauregard-Keyes House is a historic residence located in the French Quarter. It is currently a museum focusing on some of the past residents of the house, most notably Confederate General Pierre Gustave Toutant Beauregard and American author Frances Parkinson Keyes. The property where the house would be built was originally owned by Ursuline nuns, who sold off parcels of their land in 1825.
VIEW MAP
The Cabildo
The Cabildo was the seat of Spanish colonial city hall of New Orleans, Louisiana, and is now the Louisiana State Museum Cabildo. The building took its name from the governing body who met there—the “Illustrious Cabildo,” or city council. The Cabildo was the site of the Louisiana Purchase transfer ceremonies late in 1803, and continued to be used by the New Orleans city council until the mid-1850s.
VIEW MAP
The Haunted Hotel
Built in 1829, the Hotel has been home to nearly a dozen murders in the last 200 years. Reports of being haunted initially dated back to 1918, when New Orleans’ infamous serial killer, The Axeman, left a bloody trail through the city, becoming one of the most notorious serial killers of the 20th Century. To this day, his identity remains unknown. Largely targeting the Italian population in New Orleans, confirmed reports have verified that The Axeman lived in the Hotel during the murders. Renting one of the back rooms in the slave quarters, The Axeman was the handyman of the property and led a very unassuming life.
VIEW MAP
Omni Royal Orleans
The luxury French Quarter hotel features fine dining, art, ample meeting space, antique stores, 345 guest rooms and a variety of ghosts — most of which, luckily, have been described as friendly. Some reports note that lights are likely to inexplicably turn on in the middle of the night. They also allege some spirits will develop a liking for some guests and follow them around the property.
VIEW MAP
Andrew Jackson Hotel
The grounds of the Andrew Jackson Hotel have seen its fair share of history and tragedy. The site was originally a boarding school and orphanage for boys who had lost their parents to Yellow Fever, opening its doors in 1792 by the Spanish Colonial Government. The fires that consumed much of New Orleans in 1794 also laid rest to the boarding school with five young boys inside. After the fire, a U.S. Federal Courthouse was almost immediately built and remained there until before the turn of the 20th Century, where General Andrew Jackson, who later became the seventh U.S. president, was held in contempt of court and charged with obstruction of justice.
VIEW MAP
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Among the top 10 most haunted hotels in the U.S. according to USA Today 10Best, the Bourbon Orleans Hotel has a rich heritage that dates back to 1815. With such a long history, it is no surprise that some visitors have never left.
VIEW MAP

Tour Map

Hours of Operation

7 days a week
8am - 10pm

Phone

Office
504.523.0804

Toll-free
1.888.876.5196

Drop Us a Line

Don't be shy. Let us know if you have any questions!

1 + 7 =